The Brel Chronicles_Part 3 from Bob Navis Jr.

 JACQUES BREL IS COMING……

Eiffel Tower_2

hEy and loVe To aLl oF yoU oN tHis 1St dAY of fEbruAry 2013   

 thiS is seGment 3 of ThE bREl ChROnICleS: A MoNTh of inspirational WRItIGS/VIDeOS/tHOuGHTS FroM mE, bOB NaVIS jR  <YOUR FRIEND AND PARTNER IN ART> to yOu, <A CHERISHED MEMBER OF THE NWT CREATIVE COMMUNITY>

WHY?   TO INSPIRE YOU TO AUDITION.   and/OR  to encourage others to audition…AND/OR to come and see our production of Jacques Brel in May  and/OR to live this winter into spring, looKing CLOSELY AT LIFE AROUND YOU. ThE liFE withIN YOU.

THE LIFE YOU FEEL IN YOUR BONES.   THE LIFE THAT YOU LOVE AND THE LIFE THAT MAKES YOU HURT.

to allow each moment of that life…..and every feeling that is born in those moments……deeply and with playful ferocity. brel is a badger of the most fierce variety……

Here’s a link to a youtube video of DAVID BOWIE singing one of the songs in the show….”My Death” by Brel.

I offer it in memory of “V” a stunning and beloved member of the St Luke’s community who died suddenly last week. He was minister of friendship and care and humor and streetsmarts and more to many, including me, who will dearly miss him.

He died early, in his forties, like Brel himself….

I also dedicate this video to all in our theatre community who have recently lost someone close….there have been many.

 David Bowie

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rIzE3j84kKU

AUDITIONS ARE FEB 26, 27, 28 at St Luke’s

Lyrics to My Death by Jacques Brel

My death waits like an old roué
so confident I’ll go his way
whistle to him and the passing time…
My death waits like a bible truth
at the funeral of my youth
weep loud for that –
and the passing time…
My death waits like
a witch at night
as surely as our love is bright
let’s not think about the passing time

But whatever lies behind the door
there is nothing much to do…
angel or devil, I don’t care
for in front of that door…
there is you.

My death waits like a beggar blind
who sees the world through an unlit mind
throw him a dime
for the passing time…
My death waits there between your thighs
your cool fingers will close my eyes
lets think of that and the passing time
My death waits to allow my friends
a few good times before it ends
so let’s drink to that and the passing time

But what ever lies behind the door,
there is nothing much to do
angel or devil I don’t care
for in front of that door… there is you

My death waits there among the leaves
in magicians mysterious sleeves
rabbits and dogs and the passing time
my death waits there among the flowers
where the blackest shadow, blackest shadow cowers
let’s pick lilacs for the passing time

My death waits there, in a double bed
sails of oblivion at my head
so pull up the sheets
against the passing time

But whatever lies behind the door
there is nothing much to do
angel or devil…i dont care
for in front of that door
there is… [audience shout, “Me”]

 Brel watercolor

About Near West Theatre

Our Mission Statement: "Near West Theatre builds loving relationships and engages diverse people in strengthening their sense of identity, passion, and purpose, individually and in community, through transformational theatre arts experiences." View all posts by Near West Theatre

Leave a Reply

